wiis/wiːs/Write It, I'll Share

Tay Two (7610.T) — Valuation

by psind707

Equity Research · Single-Name Valuation
TSE Standard · used-media / reuse chain (used books / games / hobby / trading cards) · consolidated · FY-end February · primary-sourced from FY2026.2 full-year results and H1 tanshin
RatingHold / Spec. Long
Priceapprox ¥131
Prob-weighted FVapprox ¥155
Upsideapprox +18%
Market capapprox ¥8.5B

Tay Two runs the "Furuichi / Komihon Ichiba" used-media and reuse chain (used books, games, hobby and trading cards) across about 175 stores, an EC arm (the Yamatoku subsidiary), and a distinctive asset-light BtoB layer — the patented TAYS trading-card appraisal machine and card vending machines. FY2026.2 was a strong year: revenue +15.8% and operating profit +51.2%, with operating margin lifting to about 3.3%. But this is the more leveraged, lower-margin, higher-trading-card-beta name versus the higher-quality reuse compounders: it carries net debt, an operating margin still only in the low-3s, and explicit exposure to trading-card market swings. Management guides a flat FY2027.2 top line with net income down 7.7%, so the re-rating lever is the BtoB layer scaling into a real high-margin segment rather than near-term earnings momentum.

Snapshot

Price / Market capapprox ¥131 / approx ¥8.5B (approx 63.6M shares ex-treasury)
ValuationPER approx 10x trailing / approx 11x forward (FY2027 guide) · PBR approx 1.3x · EV/EBIT approx 9x
ProfitabilityROE approx 13% · OP margin approx 3.3% (mid-term target 5%)
Balance sheetNet debt (interest-bearing debt approx ¥4.8B at H1-end); equity ratio 42.5% (H1-end, seasonally low)
Store networkapprox 175 stores (45 in shopping malls); approx 100 directly-operated stores carry trading cards
Dividend¥4/share
LeadershipPresident Katsuji Fujiwara · HQ Okayama
Mid-term target (FY2029.2)Revenue ¥50B · operating profit ¥2.5B (margin 5%)

FY2026.2 landed well above guidance

Period (Feb FY)RevenueOp profitOrdinaryNet incomeEPS
FY2025.2 (actual)¥36.47B¥911M¥920M¥501M—
FY2026.2 (ACTUAL)¥42.23B (+15.8%)¥1,377M (+51.2%)¥1,355M (+47.4%)¥867M (+73.1%)approx ¥13.6
FY2027.2 (guide)¥42.5B (+0.6%)¥1,600M (+16.2%)¥1,600M (+18.1%)¥800M (−7.7%)—
H1 FY2026.2 (actual, for ref)¥19,335M (+10.6%)¥606M (+110.9%)¥592M (+84.4%)¥336M (+94.1%)¥5.31

The full-year result (announced April 14, 2026) beat the held ¥40.0B / ¥1.1B / ¥0.7B guidance on every line: revenue ¥42.23B (+15.8%), operating profit ¥1.377B (+51.2%) and net income ¥867M (+73.1%), lifting the operating margin to about 3.3%. Growth was led by used trading cards, hobby and games — the latter boosted by the new-console (Switch 2) cycle. Note the FY2027.2 guide: revenue is essentially flat (+0.6%) and operating profit is guided up 16% on cost discipline, but net income is guided down 7.7% to ¥800M, so the prior-year net-income surge does not repeat. The medium-term plan remains ambitious: lifting the operating margin from about 3.3% toward 5% by FY2029.2 (¥50B revenue, ¥2.5B operating profit).

How much of revenue is trading cards?

Tay Two does not separately disclose a TCG revenue figure

The company reports a single segment and discloses its merchandise mix only in coarse, relative terms — not an absolute trading-card revenue number or a clean percentage. What is disclosed: the used-goods (reuse) share of revenue is the larger and faster-growing half, and within it the used-trading-card share of revenue rose about 4 points year-on-year in a recent quarter, while new-game share fell about 3 points. Trading cards are repeatedly named among the top growth drivers (with hobby and games), and the company runs about 100 directly-operated stores that carry cards (across Furuichi, Komihon Ichiba and the dedicated Toreka Park format) — described by management as among the top tier in the industry.

Triangulating from the rising-mix commentary, the breadth of the card-carrying store base, and the materiality of the other categories (books, games, hobby, apparel), trading cards are plausibly in the mid-teens to low-20s percent of revenue and climbing — but this is an inference, not a disclosed figure. The takeaway: cards are material and rising, the single biggest swing factor in the margin, but not a majority of the business.

Three domains — the BtoB layer is the differentiator

  • Reuse stores (Furuichi / Komihon Ichiba / Toreka Park): the core, about 175 stores (45 in shopping malls). Low-cost mall-format expansion plus large-format roadside trials. Trading cards are a primary growth — and volatility — driver, including the dedicated Toreka Park format.
  • Reuse EC (Yamatoku subsidiary): a new owned warehouse (January 2025) and the "Furuichi Online" platform.
  • Reuse BtoB (the re-rating lever): the TAYS trading-card reader / appraisal machine (patented) and card vending machines, sold externally to the wider reuse industry, plus store-support and franchise packages for the Toreka Park format. This is an asset-light, scalable, higher-margin picks-and-shovels layer that could structurally lift the blended margin. The TORICO alliance (Taiwan co-store, July 2025) adds overseas optionality.

Balance sheet and leverage — the key contrast

Tay Two funds growth with debt, where the higher-quality reuse peers self-fund from net cash. Returns are reached via leverage and asset turnover on a thin margin rather than a fat margin on a clean balance sheet.

Metric (H1-end, Aug 2025)Value
Equity ratio42.5% (seasonally low; likely higher at Feb year-end)
Interest-bearing debtapprox ¥4.8B (short-term ¥3.3B + current LT ¥0.8B + bonds ¥0.2B + LT ¥0.5B)
Net positionnet debt (D/E approx 0.8x)
Goodwillsmall (approx ¥20M)

H1 free cash flow was about −¥1.0B (operating cash flow −¥0.28B on an inventory build, investing −¥0.76B on store capex), funded by net short-term borrowing. The first half is seasonally working-capital heavy; the full-year position is firmer, but the pattern confirms Tay Two is cash-consumptive and debt-reliant in its growth phase.

Valuation

On about 63.6M shares ex-treasury and a market cap of about ¥8.5B (price about ¥131): trailing PER about 10x on FY2026.2 net income of ¥867M, forward PER about 11x on the FY2027.2 guide of ¥800M, PBR about 1.3x, EV/EBIT about 9x (EV about ¥12B including net debt). Cheaper than it first appears once the stronger actuals are used — but the flat revenue guide and the guided net-income decline cap the near-term re-rating.

ScenarioProb.DriverImplied capvs approx ¥8.5B
Bear35%Trading-card market corrects, margin compresses, NI back toward ¥700M; derate to 9xapprox ¥6.3B−26%
Base40%Revenue roughly flat-to-up, NI sustained approx ¥850–900M at 11xapprox ¥9.5B+12%
Bull25%Margin toward the 5% mid-term target + BtoB (TAYS/vending) + EC + overseas scale; NI approx ¥1.2B at 13xapprox ¥15.6B+84%

Probability-weighted fair value approximately ¥9.9B, or roughly ¥155 per share (about +18%). The bear weight is higher than for the net-cash reuse peers because trading-card-cycle sensitivity and leverage amplify the downside, and FY2027.2 net income is guided lower.

How it sits versus the higher-quality reuse peer

Against Kaitori Okoku (3181), Tay Two is roughly 4.5x the revenue and far more liquid (63.6M shares versus 3.66M), with a bolder mid-term target and a bigger store network (about 175 versus about 76) — but it is lower-margin (operating margin about 3.3% versus about 5.4%), more leveraged (net debt versus net cash), and far more exposed to trading-card price swings. The two are complementary, which is why they partnered: own Tay Two for the higher-beta, more-liquid expression of the trading-card secondary-market cycle plus BtoB optionality; own the net-cash peer for cheaper, higher-quality, self-funded compounding.

Risks

  • Trading-card cycle (primary, double-edged). The card-market strength that drove FY2026.2 can reverse; the company has already seen card-market volatility dent gross margin. This is the dominant swing variable, and TCG is a rising share of the mix.
  • FY2027.2 net income guided down. Despite +16% guided operating profit, net income is guided −7.7%; the prior-year surge does not repeat.
  • Leverage. Net debt of about ¥4.8B leaves less cushion than net-cash peers if a downturn hits the thin margin.
  • Thin margins. An operating margin around 3% magnifies the earnings impact of small cost or pricing moves; the 5% mid-term target is unproven.
  • BtoB execution. The bull case leans on TAYS and card vending scaling into a real high-margin segment — promising but early.
  • Single-segment disclosure. No category-level or TCG revenue breakout; trading-card exposure can only be inferred.

Verdict — Hold / Speculative Long (trading-card-cycle beta), PWFV approx ¥155 (about +18%)

A well-executing reuse operator that beat guidance in FY2026.2 (operating profit +51.2%, net income +73.1%, margin to about 3.3%) and runs a genuinely differentiated asset-light BtoB layer (patented TAYS plus card vending) that is the true re-rating lever. On the stronger actuals it is cheaper than it first looks (about 10x trailing earnings), but it is still the more leveraged, lower-margin, higher-trading-card-beta name in the reuse set, and management guides flat revenue with net income down in FY2027.2 — so the upside (about +18%) is modest and skewed to the BtoB and card-cycle bets. Own it specifically for the higher-beta, more-liquid expression of the trading-card secondary-market cycle and the BtoB optionality; the two swing variables are whether the BtoB layer scales and whether the trading-card market stays firm.

Data caveats

FY2025.2 and FY2026.2 are reported actuals (FY2026.2 full-year announced April 14, 2026: revenue ¥42.23B, operating profit ¥1.377B, net income ¥867M; store network 175 with 45 mall stores). H1 FY2026.2 balance-sheet, leverage and cash-flow detail are primary-sourced from the H1 tanshin and reflect the seasonally weaker mid-year position. FY2027.2 is company guidance. Trading-card revenue is not separately disclosed (single segment); the TCG share is inferred from disclosed mix-shift commentary and the card-carrying store base, not reported. Price and market cap are approximate (re-verify before acting). Scenario fair values are multiple-based model outputs with wide dispersion and are not point predictions. Period naming follows the company convention (year ending February).

Internal research note. Not investment advice. Figures best-available and primary-sourced where noted as of early June 2026, subject to revision. Valuation outputs depend on stated assumptions; reasonable alternative assumptions produce materially different values.

Discussion

No comments yet.

No redactions applied.

Published via wiis. Originals are encrypted at rest; this page reflects the redacted version. report abuse.